Home  »  Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) Work Group


TCO Article, Video, and Presentation Archives


Total Cost of Ownership Work Group Co-chairs


Doug Christensen
In Memoriam


Dana "Deke" Smith
DKS, Inc.


Ana Thiemer
University of Texas - Austin


In July of 2017, the Work Group sent the draft standard out for public review through ANSI's Standards Action. The 60-day public review period closed on September 19. On September 22nd a Project Initiation Notification (PIN) was published in ANSI's Standard Action for Phase 2 of the standard which will detail data elements and implementation based on the key principles defined in Part 1 of APPA 1000 - Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) for Facilities Management. A call for participation was sent out to APPA members and the Phase 1 work group. The new sub work groups were established and are listed below. The work group will hold its first meeting in early October to begin working on Phase 2. The work group was divided into four subworkgroups: TCO Foundation, TCO Information Gathering, TCO Decision Making, and TCO Integrity.

TCO Foundation Sub Work Group
Greg Ceton, CSI - co-leader Brian Hauff, Evangel University
Nancy Johnson, Facility Matters LLC - co-leader Steve Peary, University of Vermont

TCO Information Gathering Sub Work Group
Stephen Harris, University of Texas - co-leader David Handwork, Arkansas State University
Duane Hickling, Hickling & Associates - co-leader Chris Halpin, GSA


TCO Decision Making Sub Work Group
Cameron Christensen, CUNY - College of Staten Island - co-leader David Adamian, GreenerU, Inc.
Jim Whittaker, co-leader Tom Harkenrider, Soka University of America


TCO Integrity Sub Work Group
Ted Weidner, Purdue - co-leader Karren Bee-Donohoe, The State University of New York
Mike Gebeke, University of Birmingham - co-leader Robert Quirk, California State University


TCO Data & Formulas
Chuck Mies, Autodesk- co-leader Bob Askerlund, Salt Lake Community College
Steve Holzer, BIMobject - co-leader Kimon, Onuma


Subject Matter Experts
Randy Ledbetter, Ledbetter & Associates Mike Dempsey, JACOBS
Glenda Mayo, University of North Carolina - Charlotte Roger Grant, NIBS
Steve Kraal, University of Texas at Austin Darryl Boyce, Carleton University
Mike Dell'Isola, Faithful + Gould  


APPA 1000 Part 1 Archives

For more information on this project please contact Billie Zidek at 703-542-3846 or via email at billie@appa.org.